If you turn off "Show only stable versions" or "Automatic updates only for stable versions", you will be able to use versions other than stable.
# Updating from an Older Version to the Latest Version
When you update from an older version straight to the latest version, for example after pinning a specific version for a long time, some tasks have to be carried out on your side before and after the update.